What foods should you avoid if you have a wheat allergy?

What foods should you avoid if you have a wheat allergy?

At Britt's Superfoods, our products contain no artificial colours, flavours or preservatives and are 100% vegetarian, vegan and gluten-free.

Wheat allergies, like other allergies, develop when the body's immune system becomes sensitised and overreacts to something in the environment, in this case, wheat.

Wheat allergies are most common in children and thankfully two-thirds of children have outgrown them by the time they reach 12. However, for those who don't a lifetime of management is needed including knowing what you can and can't eat.
In rare cases, you can be allergic to wheat but tolerant of gluten but in the majority of cases, a wheat intolerance also means gluten intolerance.
The common foods to avoid are:

  • Bread
  • Bulgar wheat
  • Couscous
  • Flour
  • Pasta
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Beer

However many products that may not be so obvious may contain wheat or wheat derivatives. These include:

  • Batter
  • Soups
  • Sauces
  • Processed meat

The list is long and it is important to always check the labelling for ingredient information. In the UK and the EU strict labelling guidelines are in place to protect the consumer. If a product is labelled gluten-free then you know it is suitable for a gluten-free diet.

One of the fantastic things about our wheatgrass juice is that it is gluten-free!
Our organic, outdoor grown, live wheatgrass is harvested as a young plant before it has time to become the actual grain that contains gluten. This means people with gluten intolerances can enjoy all of the benefits of this amazing plant.

To enjoy your gluten-free wheatgrass juice order here today.